Huge Print From a D3

About Nikon cameras(Film, coolpix, DSLR and Nikon mirrorless "Z"), lenses, accessories, links and firmware updates and sample pictures.

Moderator: Stany Buyle

aclphoto
AFFILIATED MEMBER
Active Member?: No
Post pictures?: No

Huge Print From a D3

Post by aclphoto »

SO I shoot sports... high speed action... type stuff. and I also shoot portraits here and there... I shoot for a living... and I know most all fundamentals,
I know all photo related elements of a shot ISO f stop... etc.
I don't need a lesson on HOW to frame, set up or shoot an image...
I dare not post this on DP...

I need to shoot an image that will be printed to a 4 foot by 8 foot size (let me deal with the proportions issue) viewing distance about 30 feet.

What I would like feed back on is HOW would YOU shoot this? (raw settings etc) I DON'T normally shoot in RAW... like I said I shoot a thousand frames every few days... there's no time to do post in RAW...

I have all the software needed to process raw... just don't use it too much.

My gear list:

(2) D3's
(1) D300
24-70
70-200 etc...etc etc...
Judson Crossland
Member NPS
ACL Photo
www.aclphoto.com

Don't Fear the space between your reality and your dreams... if you can dream it... you can live it!
Leen Koper
Active Member?: Yes
Post pictures?: Yes

Re: Huge Print From a D3

Post by Leen Koper »

No problem at all.
Viewing distance of 30 feet is the equals a size of approximately 2 by 4 feet at 15 feet and 1 by 2 feet at a viewing distance of 7 1/2 feet. Using 8 of your 12 megapixel, given this size, will be sufficient.
Your normal shooting mode of just jPEG will do.
Stany Buyle

Huge print techniques...

Post by Stany Buyle »

I was reading about this often and several people mention bicubic upresizing in PS of your image as a solution for huge prints.