Some time with my Panasonic G6

Lens and Camera reviews by our members...

Moderator: Stany Buyle

Leen Koper
Active Member?: Yes
Post pictures?: Yes

Some time with my Panasonic G6

Post by Leen Koper »

About half a year ago I bought myself a M43 camera, a Panasonic G6, together with the standard zoomlens 14-42 and the 40-150 telelens. In the meantime I added a 2,8/19 mm Sigma lens to it, bought myself a very small bag for only 2 Euro and I never looked back any more.

I still do have one Nikon and several lenses, but I have used these only sparcely. As I have been a professional portrait photographer for forty years and just recently I sold my business, I had the opportunity to use it in the studio.

First I noticed, with my camera on a studio stand, how nice it was to use my live tilting screen in the way I was used to do with Hasselblad, Bronica and my Mamiya 645, only it was mirrored. Quite different from the way live view of a Nikon I bought for the same reason of studio use, that proved to be quite a wrong buy as it hardly functionned in a studio setting. With Nikon it was an extra, an in the studio unworkable extra; with this Panasonic it is an essential thing as the display works like an additional viewfinder. It should, because the "normal" viewfinder, an electronic one, is in no way comparable to the optical viewfinder on a Nikon. And, it is an unknown luxury to see your image, displayed in a large size.

In the studio both the 14-42 the 40-150 (in a traditional way, full frame it is 24-84 and 80-300) proved to be a couple of very good lenses despite both being kitlenses. They were very sharp, left nothing to be desired and with a excellent contrast. A very welcome surprise, especially considered their price that was extremely favourable. Especialy the 40-150 was a very pleasing portrait lens. Usually I shoot at F5,6-8 in the studio and with this lens it was as good as with the 1,8/85 mm I often used with my Nikons.